ASCE Met Section presents Centennial Awards
by Michael Perlman
Mar 03, 2020 | 2638 views | 0 0 comments | 88 88 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Metropolitan Section hosted its annual awards presentation at the Museum of the City of New York on February 27.

The historic setting was ideal to celebrate the ASCE Met Section’s 100th anniversary of honoring organizations that have shaped the city for generations.

ASCE was founded in 1852 to develop leadership, advance technology, advocate lifelong learning, and promote the engineering profession. With over 5,000 members, the ASCE Met Section, founded in 1920 with 248 original members, is one of the largest and most active sections in the nation.

“It is through the hard work of thousands of engineers over the past 100 years that we have been able to provide these services and post thousands of technical lectures and training sessions for our members, making sure we’re technically savvy and have the information to build in this great city,” said John C. Deerkoski, Centennial Reception chair and ASCE Met Section past president.

Robert Fields, a senior environmental engineer with STV, said the city and nation’s infrastructure is increasingly vulnerable to a changing climate.

“The strength of U.S. infrastructure is the foundation of our economic strength and position in the world,” said ““Through ASCE committees, engineers work with scientists, researchers and public administrators on tackling some of the difficult problems of our time.”

The ceremony featured a centennial video highlighting nearly 100 major regional projects and an animated aerial view of a growing landscape through the decades, including the Grand Central Parkway, LaGuardia Airport, Queens Midtown Tunnel, the 1964 World’s Fair and the World Trade Center.

The Port Authority of NY & NJ will celebrate its 100th anniversary next year, and executive director Rick Cotton was the event’s keynote speaker.

Cotton explained that the Port Authority is two years into a $37 billion, ten-year capital plan and record levels of investment. One priority is transforming the city’s two airports into 21st century aviation hubs competitive with the world’s best airports.

Laguardia Airport already features two new concourses with 25 gates, and Delta is slated to complete construction on its new terminal in 2022. A new AirTrain will offer a train-to-plane connection.

“We are investing $8 billion, with close to three-quarters of the funding from the private partners, and rebuilding LaGuardia Airport from the ground up,” Cotton said. “We are tearing down every passenger building with the exception of the landmarked Marine Air Terminal, and building a new roadway network.”

JFK is the nation’s major international gateway. Over $12 billion in private capital will help transform JFK into a world-class and unified airport.

“At JFK, we will go from 6 million square feet of terminal facilities to more than 9 million square feet including 4.5 million square feet of new terminal space and roadway network,” Cotton said. “At the center of the airport, we plan to develop a new ground transportation center and public plaza with the potential for retail, dining, and entertainment.”

The TWA Hotel opened last May and is the only full-service on-airport hotel. It repurposes Eero Saarinen’s TWA Flight Center, a city landmark.

“Whoever thought one would say ‘I’m going to JFK, but not to catch a plane?’” asked Cotton.


In the agency category, The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey (1921) was awarded while ACEC New York (1921) was awarded in the

organization category.

College and university awardees were Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (1835), NYU Tandon School of Engineering (1854), Columbia University – The Fu Foundation School of Engineering & Applied Science (1868), New York City College of Technology (1881), Manhattan College (1892), The Cooper Union (1902), and The City College of New York Grove School of Engineering (1916).

Engineering firm awardees were WSP USA (1885), Hardesty & Hanover (1887), Lockwood, Kessler & Bartlett, Inc (1889), AECOM (1904), Mueser Rutledge Consulting Engineers PLLC, STV (1912), Greeley and Hansen (1914), HNTB Corporation (1914), Gannett Fleming (1915), and HDR (1917).

Contractor awardees were Kiewit (1884), Tutor Perini Corporation (1894), Skanska (1897), E-J Electric Installation Co (1899), Weeks Marine, Inc (1919), Bancker Construction Corp (1920).

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet